Ready or Not

I’m having trouble sleeping at night, pinching myself over and over to be assured that this isn’t just a dream!!!   In the next few days I’ll officially begin packing, meet with the team I’m traveling with for focused prayer time, and Lord willing fly across the Atlantic Ocean in just 4 weeks!!!!

I’m crazy excited about this opportunity!!  I’m ready to see God at work.  I’m ready to grow.  I’m ready to explore.  I’m ready to establish relationships.  I’m ready to take on new responsibilities.  I’m ready to serve.

Yet deep down inside there are still a few reasons why I slightly hesitate when friends ask me if I’m ready for this or not.  Truth is, I’m not ready to completely give up this comfortable American way of life.  I’m not ready to leave home or say goodbye to loved ones.  I’m not ready to climb into bed at night in a room all alone.  I’m not ready to open my mouth to teach.  I’m not ready because I’m allowing myself to be shackled by the fear of the unknowns.

But I’m going anyway.

I’m not just going to sit around and wait until I feel ready, because chances are I will never reach that point.  God commanded me to go now and called me to this specific place at this time.  I’ve got to weigh the cost of following, push past the insecurity and step out on the water with Jesus.

It might not make much sense to lay down the good things I already have.  It’s a huge risk.  But opening my hands and releasing my grasp of the dreams and plans I have for myself frees me to be handed a God sized dream and an even greater reward- Jesus himself.  I honestly can’t imagine anything better!

My former pastor says it well:

Radical obedience to Christ is not easy… It’s not comfort, not health, not wealth, and not prosperity in this world. Radical obedience to Christ risks losing all these things. But in the end, such risk finds its reward in Christ. And he is more than enough for us. \\ David Platt

I cannot wait so experience all that following Him involves this summer! smallgraydots Well my friends, this will likely to be my last post before I head out.  I’m spending my remaining weeks in the states offline as much as possible so that I may be fully here, soaking up all the special moments I can with my family, making final preparations. I love you all tons!  Keep our team in your prayers!

2 thoughts on “Ready or Not

I'd love to hear from you!

