Welcome to the Pearl of Africa!!!

May 30, 2015
Gulu, Uganda
1:38am
Amsterdam
Amsterdam

Yes it’s true!!  We officially survived 20+ hours in the air, plus 9 additional hours of road travel (African style…you’ll hear about that later this summer) and arrived safely in Gulu, Uganda yesterday evening!

lake victoria
Lake Victoria \\ Entebbe, Uganda

I’m settling into my new home with Chase & Kimmey Barbrey (only up this early because of jet lag ugh and loud music playing in town), while the rest of the GFBC team is happily bunking in a nearby guesthouse.

Entebbe to Gulu

Thanks guys, for your prayers for safe travels.  We know that God had his hand of protection over us as we crossed the ocean and drove from Entebbe, because sure enough, the moment we pulled into town, our bus broke down :/

Now it’s time to gear up for an eventful first week here.  Please begin praying for the Pastor/Leader conference which several members of the team will be conducting at Abaana’s Hope over the next few days.  As the missionaries have shared with us, there are many of these leaders who may not even be Christians.  We know many seeds will be planted and that this could be a big opportunity for many come to know Christ for the first time!

  • Pray by name for Chris, Houston, Josh, & Kris, our guys who will be teaching the Word, to be filled with words of truth from the Holy Spirit.
  • Pray for attendees ears and hearts to be open to hear, understand, and believe the message of hope being proclaimed.
  • Pray for changed lives and further discipleship after the meetings.
  • And mostly pray for Christ to be first in our hearts and at the center of all that’s planned during this time.  We know that He is God and there is no other.  He is sovereign over our lives and the Acholi people.  And He is the Savior of the world and it is He alone who will draw the hearts of the lost to himself, through our obedience in demonstrating and proclaiming His Word.

Also, while the men of our team are leading the conference, many of the women will be assisting with Life Beads & doing children’s ministry outreach with Patrick and Jennifer in some of the local schools.  We’re expecting between 800 & 1000 kids!!  Can I get a Praise the Lord, people?!!

Please be faithful in prayer!  Don’t take this lightly (…I’m mostly saying this to remind myself of its value)  We may go and do so many good things with the Acholi people day in and day out, but let’s not forget that we won’t touch the sky till our knees hit the ground.  Yes, it’s a humble place to be, but we need to bend low in surrender and invest precious time in our relationship with the Source of strength & hope if we’re going to be effective witnesses for Him in the days ahead.


Find me here at Your feet again \ Everything I am, reaching out, I surrender \ Come sweep me up in Your love again \ And my soul will dance \ On the wings of forever

My heart beating, my soul breathing \ I found my life when I laid it down \ Upward falling, spirit soaring \ I touch the sky when my knees hit the ground

Touch the Sky, Hillsong United \\ Joel Houston, Dylan Thomas, Michael Guy Chislett

5 thoughts on “Welcome to the Pearl of Africa!!!

  1. I am praying for you multiple times each day…you are on my mind and in my heart each moment. I love you, Hannah!

    Dad

  2. Yes. You’re there!!!!! You’re home Hannah!!!
    I am so excited for you and I am praying over you daily. Post as much as you can!! I love the pictures and oh, dear girl, I love your heart.
    You’re in Africa. Dreams do come true Hannah. Oh my word. Ah. And it came true one yes at a time. Thank you for showing me how to be faithful. I’m still working on that. I adore you and love you and miss you.

  3. Brilliant stuff. Sounds like you’ve got the excitement of a new adventure ahead Hannah. Like we won’t touch the sky til our knees hit the ground!! LOL. May the Lord bless and keep you and make his face to shine upon you and his family in Gulu. Remain in the Truth – Reuben

  4. It is so exciting to be on this journey with you on your blog…the pictures are brilliant, makes me feel like I am there up close and personal…praying for you even now on my lunch time..what a blessing you are to our family…prayers and hugs sent up daily especially for you. Love you, Aunt Bobbie

  5. I may not know you personally, but Hannah I love the photos and stories that you share. Thank you for sharing your heart here. You are a great source of inspiration for me as I hope to one day do mission work abroad. Good luck sweet girl, I know you are home now, but I have no doubt that God has some awesome plans for you. I will be praying for you 💕💕

I'd love to hear from you!

