1000 Words and More

**warning: photo heavy post 😉 **

Being in Uganda one week seems so unbelievable!  Doesn’t it feel like I arrived here just yesterday?

God is good.  Verses of thanksgiving and praise, like Psalm 86:12, have filled my heart to overflowing during this time:

“I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever.”

To update you on how life in Uganda is…the GFBC team I came over with had a great time in Gulu!  We definitely played hard and packed everything in in a short amount of time.  The week included a grand tour of Abaana’s Hope, children’s Bible study on Saturday afternoon, Sunday morning worship service, Pastor/Leader conference on Monday & Tuesday, a visit to the local school, one morning at the Women’s Refuge Center, and a kids outreach day.

Well friends, I have SO many pictures from the last 7 days and not enough time or energy to tell stories this weekend, sooooo I thought it would be fun to let the smiles and beautiful colors of Africa speak for themselves.  Y’all good with that?  They say a picture is worth 1000 words, right?  So here’s a new book for you to read :)…

But before I share, let me just tell you something awesome… the Spirit was present this week.  Wow!  I think we lose our wonder of it as we rush through life and operate by our schedules back in the States.  At the front end of this trip, and at the beginning of each day, we stopped and asked God to do exactly what He wanted in and through us, and that’s exactly what He did.  We saw him work.  My life was personally impacted, as were many others’.  One of my favorite “activities” was on Sunday afternoon.  Dividing into groups, we walked all over the property of Abaana’s Hope, covering the place with prayer.  It was powerful, and I loved it.  God has been speaking to me in so many ways on the importance of ministry backed by prayer.

Anyway, so onto the week…

IMG_9009-1

Meet Cinderella.  You’ll probably be seeing her a lot this summer.  She is the daughter of the couple who leads the children’s ministries at AH, and sister to Shalom.  We became buddies last fall, so being reunited this week was special for both of us.  It was no surprise how quickly Cinderella got her hands on my camera.  Last year she had a blast with it.   Being on the shorter side, Cinderella has neat perspective of the world which has led her to capture many of my favorite shots at Abaana’s Hope (like my new profile on the sidebar, and also the front image displayed on Four Corners‘ website, if you didn’t already know 😉 )  I’ll be sure to point out her masterpieces as I post them.

DSC_0001
Munos (white people) against Acholis in a game of football (soccer)

DSC_0026

DSC_0011
credit: Cinderella
DSC_0018
credit: Ella

DSC_0022

IMG_9029
Josh preached at Living Stones Community Church on Sunday morning
IMG_9045
Baby Daniel | credit: Marci

june 1

june 1

june 1

june 1

june 2
Oh my goodness!! that child’s laughter!

june 1

june 1

june 1
Linda sharing a devotional with the jewelry ladies

june 1

june 1

june 1

june 1

june 1

june 1

june 1

This is where pictures from the conference should be haha.  I’m getting onto myself for forgetting to take some throughout the week.  Whenever I popped my head in the chapel over those two days I witnessed how eager these leaders were to learn.  From what I heard, it was a very successful event.  Isn’t it exciting?  Our prayers were answered and God brought exactly the right men and women who needed to be fed the Word this week!  We trust that it will not return void and will result in the multiplication of the Gospel in this area.

june 1

Now I don’t know how they did it, but somehow Ryan & Marci convinced me to follow them up the ladder to the water tower.  Even with my entire body shaking before, during and afterwards, the frightful climb was worth it for this view!!

abaanashopepano

…and the priceless opportunity I had to give my mom a heart attack with this photo lol…

june 1
credits: Marci and Ryan
june 1
He’s got himself some admirers 🙂
june 1
Volleyball after lunch…munos vs. Acholis

june 1

june 1

june 2

june 2

june 2

june 2
This is a traditional home called an ot lum.

june 2

june 2
Laura gave a devotional and all the ladies living at the Refuge Center shared their stories.

june 2

june 2
Baby Shalom.  These girls have a special way with babies I can’t even explain ❤

june 2

Meet Maurine, fellow goofball 🙂 This is another girl who hung out with me a lot last visit.  She is the daughter of Grace, the sweet woman who makes pots.  Maurine’s giggle is one that can instantly bring sunshine to anyone’s day.  She is a little firecracker full of energy and life!  One minute she’ll be “braiding” my hair or laying in my lap learning to curl her tongue, the next moment out bouncing a ball off her head or chasing chicks.  I love hearing her call me Auntie Hannah.

june 2
credit: Avery

june 2

june 3

june 3

june 3

june 3

june 3
duck, duck, GOOSE!

june 3

june 3

june 3

june 3

june 3

june 3

june 3

june 3

june 3

This isn’t prayer as you may think…the kids were waiting to receive a surprise gift…ANIMAL MASKS!  Laura taught the story of Noah’s Ark on Saturday.  All the kids got to be an animal themselves 🙂

june 3

june 3

And so we reach today.  Early this morning we drove over to the guesthouse to say our goodbyes to the team.  If you’ve ever been on a missions trip, you know what I mean when I talk about how unique the bond is that develops between team members while serving in Jesus’ Name.  Though I wasn’t technically part of the GFBC team, these guys wrapped their arms around me like I was one of their own.  I made so many close friends among them and precious memories.

june 4

Last hugs were long and sweet…there were even a few tears in the mix.  Pray for them as they spend the next 2 days flying back tot the States!  I’m already missing you guys!

And I love you, friends & family back at home!  You’re never far from my mind!  I’m so grateful for your support and prayers throughout this whole journey.  8 more weeks here!!!  Imagine all that the Lord has planned during that time!


Sing to the LORD all the earth!  Tell of his salvation from day to day.

1 Chronicles 16:23

9 thoughts on “1000 Words and More

  1. Hey Hannah! I’m Shelby. I am kind of new to your blog and I absoultey love it!!! I always get excited when I get something in my email that you posted something new. I think what you are doing is amazing!!

  2. AHHHHH!!!! This was glorious to read today! I am filled up. thank you.
    As always, praying for you, the team and the Acholi people.
    Hugs from Eagle Point:-)
    Ann

  3. Hey Hannah,
    You look like you’re having a bunch of fun with those little kids. I am praying for you when I think of you. 🙂
    Love your pal Ashley

  4. I am amazed at all the smiling faces as you and the team are ministering to all these different ages, showing the love of Christ to all his people…My prayers have been unending since you left…..love and hugs to you, Aunt Bobbie

I'd love to hear from you!

