Abaana’s Hope Art

When I first came to Gulu last fall I didn’t travel alone. Some dear, lifelong friends, the Merriwethers, were a part of the small team. We navigated airports together, flew across the ocean, walked the same roads, befriended the same precious people, heard the same heart-stirring stories.

DSC_0301

Returning home we all knew that our lives would never be the same.  We each considered ways to continue reaching the world for Christ and supporting this wonderful ministry after having made the trip.

For me, you know my story…it was undoubtably clear that I needed to get back over here for a longer period of time, to serve, teach & take pictures ;).  For Mrs. Pansy, she immediately set out to use her exceptional talent for artistry to recreate the beauty of Abaana’s Hope with paints and brushes.

june 18

june 18

Following that morning we spent at the Refuge Center, Mrs. Pansy came  home and painted this gorgeous portrait of Grace and her pottery.  I had the amazing privilege of hand delivering it to her this very morning 

I’m telling y’all…I have never seen someone so ecstatic over a gift before 🙂  I’ve never seen such detailed, story-filled, beautiful artwork either.

And guess what?  Now you can actually get a copy of this painting for yourself!  In the last month Four Corners Ministries has produced a collection of notecards with  5 of Pansy Merriwether’s original, Uganda-inspired masterpieces…

Abaana's Hope Art

Aren’t they just lovely?!  I am *SO* excited about these and can’t wait to get home to write notes on them while thinking of all that God is doing in the lives of my friends here at Abaana’s Hope!

I encourage you to head on over and purchase your own set of cards from Life Beads Africa on Etsy today!

All proceeds will help Four Corners minister to the children and families in Northern Uganda and South Sudan!


As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace…in order that in everything that God may be glorified through Jesus Christ.

1 Peter 4:10 & 11b

5 thoughts on “Abaana’s Hope Art

  1. WOW!!! The joy I see in these pictures is only possible through the love of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ! What a blessing you had to capture this moment.

    We love you!

    Dad

  2. Wish Sandra and I could have been with you when Grace “unveiled” her portrait. Thanks so much for sharing these amazing photos.

    Blessings,
    Royce

  3. Hi Hannah. I’m gonna do just that! Something really special about handmade cards. Takes us back to when we were children when we would take hours making a card for some celebration. When my girls were small – I just loved receiving handmade cards. A trillion times better than a bought one! Sounds like you’re having an awesome time out there. Give a wave to watoto when next you’re passing. You must tell me how you got to Gulu. It might be something I may do one day. The sheer joy of meeting Basil, Pamela, Sheila, Joy and Irene in the flesh. May the Lord bless your humble heart, Hannah. in Jesus our joy – Reuben.xx

I'd love to hear from you!

