Shifting

july 9

“Wherever you are, be all there.” \\ Jim Elliot

I was talking to my friend last week about how I’ve shifted my priorities around a bit over the last month.  You may have noticed some silence here on the blog, and a lack of response to any direct contact you try to make with me.  Don’t take it personally.  It’s not what I planned, but it’s been a very good thing.  Let me explain…

God really convicted me about how I’m using my time.  Initially I was spending every free minute here at the house concerned with uploading photos and writing blog posts…all the while slacking of on what matters most…Bible study + preparing devotions, rest, investing in the people I’m blessed to be with during this brief season.  I just wasn’t being wise.

And I was way too consumed in the memory-making to make memories.

Did you catch that?  If you’ve ever taken a trip and love picture-taking, maybe you’ll know what I’m talking about.  You spend so much time documenting life that you don’t have the ability to fully live in it.  You may end up with a picture to prove something happened, but if you can’t remember what was said, what was felt, what the experience meant, it really doesn’t matter much in the future.

Being a photographer, it can be the hardest thing ever having the discipline not to pull out the camera, but it’s SO worth it.   When a cute kid crawls into my lap, yes, a picture would be a sweet thing to look back on, but maybe it needs to be a moment just for us, to be remembered without the click of a shutter.

There are kiddos that need empty hands to grab when they want to dance around in circles and swing on the swing set.  Or a little girl who needs the security of both my arms wrapped around her while she cries on my chest.  There are women who’d love to see me pick up string and beads and make jewelry with them while trying to teach me their language….

I’m only here for a short while longer so I’m gonna try making the most of it.  Living in the moment.  Cherishing the people I’ve been given time with today. These are the things that make up forever.  I don’t want to miss them.  

If you don’t hear from me for a few weeks, don’t freak out and think I’ve fallen off the planet.  Just keep me in your prayers and I’ll let you know when I’m home!  I love you guys and can’t wait to share a boat load of stories and pictures with you later this summer!

“Forever is composed of nows.” \\ emily dickinson
8 thoughts on “Shifting

  1. That’s it Hanah!!
    God bless you as you put the first things first. It’s very clear God is working strongly in you! Don’t lose that…….even when you go back home! 😀
    He has more in store for you………

    Rolain

  2. A wonderful perspective sweet Hannah! Enjoy every single moment and precious blessing! Keeping you in our prayers ❤

  3. this is the most perfect realization and I’m so proud of you. soak it up, and make memories *maybe only you know about*.
    love you so much

  4. I’m glad (in a way) that I will not be hearing from you! 🙂 Cannot wait to sit down with you and hear all about how God revealed Himself!

  5. So proud of you for listening to the Holy Spirit and responding in Hannah’s way…loving you from afar……Aunt Bobbie

I'd love to hear from you!

