Exploring Winnipeg

In case you’ve just begun following this journey, don’t be confused!  Yes, this is still a blog of ministry in Africa.  I was unexpectedly blessed with the opportunity to share the Gospel in Canada for a week back in August.  This week I finally got around to writing about it 😉

If you haven’t read earlier posts about the trip, go back and check them out!

Canada, eh? (trip overview)

God Moments (testimony of salvation)


With only one day of sight-seeing, there was just too much of Winnipeg and too little time to explore the whole city!  I’m pretty sure we hit the most beautiful spots on our tour.

winnipeg15-44

winnipeg15-43-2
The Canadian Museum for Human Rights
The Forks

This is a historic site located at the confluence of two rivers.  We hung out around the Forks Market all morning.  The views from the tower were gorgeous!

winnipeg15-329

winnipeg15-312

winnipeg15-327

winnipeg15-309
There’s some of our team down below!

winnipeg15-310

winnipeg15-337

winnipeg15-338

winnipeg15-317

winnipegpano

winnipeg15-340

We caught a ride on the water bus and learned some of the history of the city at the fork of the Red and Assiniboine Rivers.

winnipeg15-344

winnipeg15-345
These are flood markers which commemorate the peak water levels from major floods.
winnipeg15-350
Manitoba Legislative Building

winnipeg15-1

winnipeg15-6

winnipeg15-9

winnipeg15-14
Esplanade Riel.  I thought this pedestrian-only suspension bridge was pretty cool because it has a restaurant in the middle of the bridge.

winnipeg15-15

winnipeg15-19
This used to be an old fire house on the water. Now it’s been converted into a really nice restaurant.

winnipeg15-352

winnipeg15-353
You can see the Forks Market Tower from this pic…where I got all those shots from higher up!

After touring the area and grabbing lunch, our group split up.  Some went back to the dorm to rest, others went to some sort of science center, and the rest explored the zoo.  All the options sounded good to me, but the idea of seeing a polar bear in Manitoba was particularly thrilling…so off to the zoo I went!

Assiniboine Zoo

winnipeg15-28

winnipeg15-31

winnipeg15-35
Arctic fox

winnipeg15-39

winnipeg15-42

winnipeg15-51

1

winnipeg15-63

winnipeg15-64

winnipeg15-21
reindeer

winnipeg15-65

winnipeg15-68

winnipeg15-71
Study the can and guess what it really is 😉

winnipeg15-76

It was the coolest thing to sit down in this food court and get to watch the polar bears while licking our ice cream.

winnipeg15-72

winnipeg15-81

2

winnipeg15-89
snow leopard

winnipeg15-95

winnipeg15-108

winnipeg15-131

winnipeg15-126

3

winnipeg15-130

4

winnipeg15-116

And that concludes our trip to Canada in August!  Well…I take that back. I actually have one more post in mind.  It may take me awhile to get around to writing it, though.  Doing all these consecutive posts wore me out!


O LORD, how manifold are your works!  In wisdom you have made them all; the earth is full of your creatures.

Psalm 104:24

5 thoughts on “Exploring Winnipeg

    1. Alright haha…I’ll tell you.

      In case you couldn’t read the small print, the can reads, “BEWARE! Open only with adult supervision. CAUTION! These polar bears have been known to lie in bed under your covers and snuggle you to sleep. Limited edition 1 of 8 or 9 million.”

      It’s a stuffed animal of a polar bear! 😉

  1. Loved this post! Your pictures are stunning, Hannah!
    How long have you been doing photography? What editing program do you use? I’m an *aspiring photographer*so I’m always interested in what other photographers use! 😉

    1. Aw thanks, Tashia! ❤

      I've been taking pictures since I was a kid, but really got serious about it, sensing I might want to pursue photography professionally when I was around 14…so I guess that's almost 8 years! I've been in business with it for about 2 years. All my post-processing is done in Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop. However, I prefer minimal editing so that my images don't look fake.

      1. Ok, that’s neat! You do a fabulous job! Very inspiring!! 🙂 I love the coloring/lighting you can get.
        And i agree, i don’t like my pictures to look fake either. 😉

I'd love to hear from you!

