Sunshine Blogger Award

I said blogging would look a little different beginning in 2016…why not make it more fun and interactive?!!  I’ve never been awarded anything like this, so I’m pretty clueless about the process, but this should make for an interesting post!

As a way of accepting I have to list 7 facts about myself.  Hmmm….what are some random things you’d probably never figure out about me just by reading of my missionary journey???

  1.  I’m not afraid of spiders.  In most situations I’m such a girly girl that I freak out over creepy crawlies and critters, but somehow Africa managed to cure me of my fright of spiders.  Little ones, supersize ones, the ones you find sneaking about in the most freaky places (please tell me I’m not the only one whose heart has nearly stopped when seeing a spider scamper across a pillow just before bed or crawl out of a shoe?!?)…eh, they don’t really phase me like that anymore.  Call me, I’ll catch your spiders for you.
  2. Quality time is my love language.  I feel most appreciated when someone gives me their undivided attention.  Togetherness.  Eye contact.  It can be through endless hours of conversation, playing games, or any activity that is focused more on paying attention to one another than the topic of conversation or score of the game.  It probably sounds really selfish, but in essence, that’s how all quality time people are wired.  I personally get really frustrated when hanging out with someone who is always grabbing their phone every time it buzzes (yes even I’m guiltly of this, but I’m working on it), especially while we’re in the middle of something we planned for US.  On the flip side, I am most warmed and feel special when you ignore interruptions and show me that you really care about our time together.  I think you get the idea 🙂
  3. I currently possess 29 journals…maybe even more.  It sounds like a crazy amount for one girl, doesn’t it?  I’ve documented my life story/random thoughts/prayer requests/devotional insights for nearly 9 years, so all but 5 of those journals have been completely filled.  My favorite entries, surprisingly, are from rough seasons of life.  Going back to see how God provided peace and direction, even when storms arose, is pretty incredible.
  4. I have asthma and more allergies than you could count.  As a kid I couldn’t participate in sports or active group games because I wheezed or passed out with even just a quick dash across the yard.  The allergies, too…with my list of avoidables including nearly all trees, grasses, weeds, molds, etc., try to imagine how miserable some spring/summers have been.  Yet more recently it’s been really encouraging to discover how a stricter diet + exercise improves my condition.  For the first time I can remember I’m on ZERO meds- praise God!!  Oh and I’m seriously allergic to shellfish, too, but that’s a tale for another day…
  5. I rarely read fiction.  I know there is great fictional literature out there, written by some fantastic authors, but for some odd reason they’ve never interested me. The last one I remember reading was Pride & Prejudice as an assignment in high school many years ago, and I nearly died😵.  Biographies are my favorites, and any books or articles on Christian living/Kingdom advancement, etc.  There’s a growing stack on my nightstand to tackle in 2016!
  6. I’m a big sis to 5…and I take my role of being an older sister very seriously.  I want to be the sister who is always available, who always has a word of encouragement, the one who never stops seeking out ways to show my siblings how deeply I love them even though I’m not around as much as I once was.  Whether it happens through donut dates, card games, book reading, Bible study, or lazily laying out on the bed just chatting, it’s my mission to embrace this opportunity to set an example of Christ and be a trusted friend to my sisters and brothers.  Oh I’m already dreading leaving them for 6 months later this year!  In Uganda this summer there were days when I came home to over 200 messages from them (often times just rows of these 🐵🙈🙉🙊 lol)- I felt so loved & missed!  If you think about it, pray for that aspect of my transition back to UG!
  7. And if you haven’t already pick up on this by reading Left My Heart in Africa, you really ought to know…I’m a believer in Jesus.  I’m a sinner, saved by grace.  I’m a follower committed to obeying God to my last breath.  I’m a servant ready to be broken and poured out by a loving Master.  I’m a missionary, eager to proclaim the Good News in Alabama, Africa, and everywhere in between.

That was out of the ordinary!  What do you think of the award?

Evidently you’re supposed to pass this award along.  The problem is, I just don’t follow enough bloggers who would participate in something like this.  So for all you dear bloggers out there reading, I award YOU the Sunshine Blogger Award!  Patricipate and pass this along on your site if you feel led!

wp-1451238259118

Here are the rules:

1. If you get nominated, make a post like this.
2. Give thanks to the blogger that gave the award to you.
3. Include the bright yellow picture in your post.
4. List seven facts about yourself.
5. Nominate 5 other bloggers that you respect and let them know by posting a comment on one of their posts.  ***I’m slightly bending on this one😉

Thank you again, sweet Megan for the nomination!  I love your beautiful heart, friend.

3 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Your post was really nice. My “love language” is quality time as well, and I feel the same as you do about it. 🙂
    I am praying for you!
    Love in Christ,
    Ashley

  2. We have some stuff in common!
    I have almost 10 journals and I’m 11!I love writing!
    I am also allergic to a bunch of stuff. Store bought pancake mix, etc,etc. Not fun! 😦
    I have 9 siblings, 7 are younger than me! It has its joys and challenges for sure!
    I would love it if you checked out my blog!!

  3. Loved reading through this and learning a little bit more about you! 🙂
    I *kinda* have a fear of spiders (🙈), but I’d rather have them dead then know they may be crawling around somewhere! 😉 so, yeah, I’m not afraid to kill them either!
    I LOVE your heart for your siblings. So inspiring.
    Praying for you as you prepare to go to Uganda this year. ❤

I'd love to hear from you!

