the life that counts

Take a half hour to watch this today…  Trust me, it’s worth your time!

It was this part that especially gripped me:

Don’t miss HIM.

Missions was never intended to be your life.

Christ is intended to be your life.

Missions is the overflow of a life in love with Christ.

This is the life that counts: the life in love with Christ.

Does your heart belong to Jesus?

Dont’ try to manufacture a heart for missions and miss a heart for Christ.

For years I’ve listened to messages like this with a very closed, prideful mindset.  These are things I’ve often told myself: You’re beyond this, Hannah…you’ve been following Jesus for years, you’re already active in missions.  There’s no reason for you to question whether or not you are in love with the Lord, it’s so obvious by what you do.

Yet I believe God led me to stumble upon this video yesterday to jolt my heart and expose areas needing change in my life.  I get so fixed in my ways that it’s hard to accept correction, especially when I know it’ll likely flip flop my direction.  But this is sanctification.  Being purged of sin and being transformed into Christ’s likeness.

Today I am faced with the reality that over the last few months I have not lived a life that counts.

Others see me juggling a schedule filled with numerous church or religious activities and acts of service, but what I see is a bunch of hypocrisy because these things are not overflowing of a life abandoned to loving Christ.

I love myself and exalt the task over the Purpose.

My sights are set on pleasing people to increase my reputation, not lift high the name of Jesus.

I selfishly desire to be better, do good and change the world….but we all know that Jesus, only Jesus, is capable of that.

And I get consumed with fleshly passion….far more than I devote myself to Christ.

But I refuse to live this way for a moment longer.

I recognize my sin and have confessed it to the Lord.  I see my Savior and, to be perfectly honest I DON’T WANT TO MISS HIM.  I NEED Jesus, more than ever and to truly KNOW Him…seeking and growing and listening to Him every. single. day.

Then my heart will genuinely overflow with love, compassion, service…

I want to look back on this life after everything has passed- all the deeds disappeared and followers vanished- and be satisfied by the reward of knowing Christ intimately, having loved Him with my whole heart and giving every breath I breathe to that loving and letting His love pour forth through me.

Indeed, I count everything as loss for the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.  For His sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith…

Philippians 3:8-9

5 thoughts on “the life that counts

  1. I love you, dear sister, and I am so thankful you shared this with me. Looking forward to growing in adoration for the Lord and serving with you this summer ❤

  2. I love the authenticity and sincerity of your posts! I been cherishing few of the words of Paul to be “determined not to know any thing among you, save Jesus Christ, and Him crucified” where Christ’s love me, you and the world was demonstrated. I want be able to say one day “For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.”

  3. Wow, Hannah, I sat here in tears, as I FELT the burden on this young minister’s heart. Just precious. His words are SO true…I wish every person in our world could hear them. In 2011, on New Year’s Day, I stood in front of our church and told our congregation that I had a deep desire to KNOW Christ. I am sure that, after many, long, busy years of full-time ministry, going wide-open, full-speed ahead, it must have sounded so odd to them to hear me say that. Most of them knew that I have been serving Jesus since I gave my heart to him at 10, so my words must have seemed absurd. But, the depth of my longing was so overpowering, it was the cry from the deepest part of me to not just serve Him…but to KNOW Him. Nothing on earth could have prepared for me for what followed….oh, the tears, the anguish, the devastation, the hurt, the purging, pruning, refining that has taken place. I remember one particular day that I was driving down the road, heart crushed to bits, incessant tears streaming, and it felt like the dear Lamb of God Himself slipped into the front seat beside me, and He said, “NOW, do you know Me?” Oh, dear Lord! I cried even harder, as I realized that in order to know Him….to really, really know Him….we must drink a tiny drop of the cup drank for us…we must be willing to be rejected, to be betrayed, to suffer, in order to KNOW Him. “Yes, dear Lord, I know you!” I cried, as my mind went back to those moments on New Year’s Day…to that passion that was ignited in my soul, to that burning, overwhelming desire that had engulfed me…that had propelled me and compelled me and started me on this journey to KNOW Christ. As this dear preacher said, there is a cost to know Him, but it is SO worth it! I would not do ANYthing differently…if I were given the opportunity to go back and stand there and choose my words…my words would be the same. To KNOW Christ is worth the effort, the sacrifice, the journey. And if we don’t really know Him, we have missed the whole point. Many will say, Lord, Lord, but He will say, “Depart from Me, I never knew you”. Oh, for that intimacy with Him! It is a treasure I will cherish to my dying breath. To have the power of His resurrection resting upon one’s life is truly the essence of all that is worthwhile. THANK YOU for sharing this video….it has blessed me immensely. God bless you, Hannah.

    1. Oh your beautiful heart! God bless you for sharing your testimony. This is my heart cry, too, Mrs. Cheryl!

      The minister in the movie, Dr. David Platt, pastored my former church for many years before moving on to become President of IMB. I heard his messages, much like this one, every single week for YEARS. Good for the heart! During that time God led me into action through hearing His Word. I got so fired up seeing David’s passion for missions, and felt God burdening my own heart for Africa (thus all this came about 🙂 ) Yet somewhere along the way I missed the point of it, and this week, I’m SO grateful God opened my eyes to the lack of Jesus in my life through this message. Yes, the mission is important…extremely! But KNOWING God is of greatest worth. I don’t want to go through the rest of my life life serving without having had that intimacy with the Lord. It’s my greatest fear to reach the end of my life and hear Him say that He didn’t know me because I didn’t give everything I had to investing in that relationship, too.

  4. Hey girl!! How are you? Just a note to tell you I have tagged you in the Liebster tag! More details on my blog! I hope you will do it!!
    Your Sister in Christ, ❤
    Paige

I'd love to hear from you!

