awarded again!

**UPDATED** see below!

Giving blog awards must be a big thing right now.  I had no idea!  They seem like a fun thing to do every now and then.  This time a sweet friend tagged me with the Liebster award.  Does anyone even know what Liebster means?  Haha not me!

You can get to know me better through these questions and answers, and I hope I can get to know you, too!  Just comment with your answers or do a post of your own.

Anyway, so here are her questions and my responses…

    1. Are you going to do the tag?  YES dear girl!  I will do the tag for you 🙂  Thanks for nominating me!
    2. How many siblings do you have?  I have 6 siblings + one brother-in-law.  Love them to death!
    3. What do you think you’ll be doing 5 years from now?  Geez I’m always stumped by this question because I have no earthly clue!  Yeah you’d think that at 21 (almost 22!) years of age I should have some idea, but nope! I don’t even know what I’ll be up to next January, much less 5 years from now!  Taking a wild guess, I think I may be planning another trip to Uganda if I’m not already there, and I’ll be seeking ways to serve and be an encouragement to people in my local church and community.  Since January I’ve been leading a Bible study for young women and it’s been such a blessed experience, I hope to be leading like this in 5 years.
    4. How did you think of your blog title?  I didn’t give it much thought at all, actually.  It was a huge answered prayer to travel to Africa for the first time in 2012.  I left my heart in that land, with those people, my new friends.  When I decided to set up a blog for my next trip an idea popped in my head within seconds and the name was available on WordPress, so I stuck with it:  Left My Heart in Africa.
    5. Are you an early bird or a night owl?  Oh early bird for sure!  I ADORE morning!  There are so many reasons why I love this time of day- the calmness, sunshine peeking up over the trees, scent of coffee filling the home, breakfast….just to name a few.  Some of the fondest memories I have from childhood include getting up at the crack of dawn every day and waiting at the top of the staircase until I heard my mom unloading the dishwasher.  I don’t know why I waited for her before going down??  I guess I found some security in knowing I wasn’t alone in the house, that Mom was around and available for me down there.  Mornings are also my favorite time to meet with Jesus in prayer and reading the Bible.  That’s when I’m most focused and clearheaded, not so bogged down by cares of the day.
    6. What is your favorite flower?  Coral-colored peonies!  Never seen one?  Click HERE!  Ahhhh they’re just gorgeous and make my heart so happy!  I found some silk ones at Home Goods a few years ago and have had the pleasure of waking up to the beauty of them sitting on my desk every morning ever since.
    7. What do you do in your spare time?  What spare time?!  Haha, just kidding!  I’ve got a little spare time….10 minutes here, an hour there….  In those moments I LOVE reading books and baking chocolate chip cookies (want a recipe someday?)…sometimes exercising *wink*.  I also use spare time to shop for groceries and do housework.  Oh!  And I try to work in time to meet friends for coffee or take my younger siblings out on dates, too!
    8. Do you crochet?  Funny you should ask that, Paige!  I actually learned how to crochet less than a month ago!  A dear friend came over just to hang out one afternoon and she ended up teaching me how to crochet an infinity scarf!  It was pretty cool, and a lot easier than I expected!
    9. If there was 1 place in the world you could go, where would it be?  I really don’t have a specific place in mind.  It’s just a dream of mine to stay on a tropical island someday…and that dream may come true sooner than I thought! 😉
    10. Can a sentence end with the word, “THE”?  I guess it can because your sentence did haha.
    11. Have you enjoyed this post so far? Why yes!  It was very fun to think on some of these questions!

Unknown-4

Update!!!

I didn’t even realize till this evening that another blogging friend also nominated me for the same award!  Thanks, Ashley!  How sweet!

Her questions were a little different, so I’m going to answer them also.  Enjoy!

  1. How long have you been saved?  15 years!  Whoa!  Yessss it feels like forever ago when I trusted in Jesus as my Savior, but I remember the moment I believed like it was yesterday!  I wrote about that evening HERE!
  2. Generally speaking, how old do you think you should be when you get married?  And how old do you want to be when you get married?  I’m not even going to voice an opinion on this one because I’ve learned to leave matters of the heart and life direction up to the Lord.  He’s got a plan and I don’t need to fuss over how he carries it out in different people’s lives.  Haha how old do I want to be though?  Just dreaming, I guess 24 or 25 sounds like a nice age 🙂  I don’t have a sense that God is leading me to give up this sweet season of singleness quite yet, in case any of you were curious 😉
  3. Do you like coffee?  And if you do, what’s your favorite kind?  I do like coffee, though I’m not a regular consumer.  Something about the acid in coffee makes my sensitive face break out in the worst way- BOO!  Yet I splurge on special occasions with a strong, dark brew (no particular kind) with a spot of sugar or a REALLY sugary mocha frappe.  Ok, I just have to mention this, too….Chick-fil-A just came out with a frosted coffee drink that is pretty awesome!  Today they were giving them out for FREE, so it made my day extra nice {but the caffeine is keeping me on edge SUPER LATE!!!}.
  4. What is/was your favorite subject in school?  I was fond of history, but not just any historical records found in textbooks.  When I reached a fascinating event or person in my studies I enjoyed doing additional reading on them during my free time.  Once I discovered missionary biographies I knew I’d be hooked for life!  They’re still my favorites and the heroes of the past whom I am most inspired by.
  5. What’s your favorite hobby?  It used to be photography, but ever since picture-taking became one of my jobs, it hasn’t really been something I think about doing in my free time.  Nowadays I guess it would have to be reading, if that counts.  I’ve already read through several this year and it’s only March woot woot!
  6. What’s your favorite Bible verse?  A friend asked me this the other day!  It’s so hard to choose just one!  My favorites change by season and life circumstance, I think.  So right now I am clinging to Philippians 3:8, “Indeed I count everything as loss for the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.”  That word knowing really challenges me.  I want to know Christ.  Not just in a casual friendship sort of way.  I long to experience the intimacy of a romance with Christ and give my whole life to loving Him.
  7. Do you play any instruments?  Yep I sure do!  The viola.  Take it to note that I haven’t had a lesson since 2011ish haha…..aaand that I don’t play often or very well, but I DO know how to play, and yes I can read the horrible viola music written in alto clef.  Because I play viola I can also play violin and cello (again, not my forte, but I know where to place my fingers and I can produce more music than screeches lol!).  I’ve also taken piano lessons in the past, and I also have a guitar which I want to learn so badly, but there’s been no time to take up something new lately.
  8. What’s your favorite season/time of year?  SUMMER!  This really doesn’t need an elaborate explanation, but I may just give one because this season is so awesome:  heat.  beach.  sundresses.  clear skies.  swimming.  tanning.  sunsets.  ice cream.  FLIP FLOPS!  The list could go on forever!  I just really look forward to summer every year!
  9. Do you have any pets or animals?  You may get really mad at me for saying this, but animals are not my thing.  At all.  Weeelll sometimes I love to snuggle with a puppy 🙂   But in general, furry creatures or anything of the likes that people keep as pets are wonderful companions for others, but not me (did I say that kindly enough?).  My family, however keeps pets.  Certain siblings have a real sweet spot for kittens, which disappointingly, several of us are pretty allergic to.  At the moment there are 3 dogs and 2 cats hanging around.
  10. What do you think you’ll be doing 10 years from now?  Like I said above when thinking 5 years down the road….I DON’T KNOW!!  I’ll hope to still be ministering in Africa in some capacity and actively sharing Christ here at home through whatever job I’m keeping.  Or maybe I’ll be married and mothering littles by then??!  Hmmmm!  A whole new world of service and sharing the love of Jesus!
  11. What’s your favorite book to read, and what’s your favorite book in the Bible to read?  I’ve been an avid reader since I was about 13 and have read some pretty incredible, life-altering literature.  You have no idea what a challenge it is to narrow my list of favorites down to one!  One in particular which I’ve gone back to reread before is a trilogy by Nancy Leigh DeMoss (now Wolgemuth!).  It includes her books “Holiness”, “Brokenness” and “Surrender”.  They are so Biblically solid and motivational!  And book of the Bible???? At this time of life I’m loving Galatians.  So much packed into those 6 chapters contrasting a life following the flesh and one following the Spirit!

Unknown-7

8 thoughts on “awarded again!

  1. Hi Hannah,
    I like reading your answers. I awarded you for the LIebster award too. I have different questions though.
    I know what liebster means. 😀 It’s a German word that means “dearest, sweetest, kindest, beloved”.
    Have a delightful day, friend! 😀
    Much love in Christ,
    Ashley

  2. Hey! I am so glad that you liked the tag! Yes, it means “dearest, sweetest, kindest, beloved”!
    That is so neat that you just learned how to crochet!! I have been trying to make a scarf. Oh well, Ill get the hang of it sooner or later! Your’s looks awesome!!!
    I am (Lord willing) going to open a shop, called Paige’s Crocheted Creations! Either 10 or 20 % will go to Africa! And hopefully I can send you some money for what the Lord has called you to do!!
    Well, I could go on and on, but I better go! I would love to write to you! Maybe we can message each other soon! 🙂
    Love and Prayers in Christ! ❤ ❤ ❤
    Paige

    1. What a generous heart you have, Paige! Your business will be a blessing to those who buy your crocheted goods and whoever you support!

      Feel free to email me anytime! I can’t promise a quick reply, but I most definitely will respond! Much love! ❤

      1. Oh, I really give all the credit to the Lord, He is the one that created me, and redeemed me! God is so good!
        I would like to soon! Things are just a little crazy around here. Lots of stuff going on! 🙂
        ❤ Paige

I'd love to hear from you!

