pray 2016 | doubt & fear

Pray for the Spirit to guard my mind against doubt and fear.

Satan must know that God has something awesome in the works (haha doesn’t He always?!).  And I feel it.  He’s craftily trying to draw my focus away from God and things which bring Him greater glory.

For instance, twice last week I woke up in the middle of the night because I dreamed up multiple scenarios for ways things might go wrong regarding my trip…travel mixups or concerns about packing, etc.  Menial things, but still they caused me to enter into the weekend flustered and slightly stressed.  Other doubts filled my mind as I sat down to think over potential devotions to share.  Like last year, my insecurities about speaking in front of others surfaced and I began to question God’s leading about teaching again.

So I was grateful when on Friday morning I curled up on a friend’s couch and randomly (or rather, divinely) flipped open my Bible to 2 Thessalonians.  God instantly gave me a calming assurance of His steadfast protection through this verse below.

Please continue praying that I will be attentive to the Lord’s voice and rejoice in His faithfulness.  Pray that I make it a priority to saturate my mind with the Truth everyday.


But the Lord is faithful.  He will establish you and guard you against the evil one.

2 Thessalonians 3:3

4 thoughts on “pray 2016 | doubt & fear

  1. Hannah, It is so good that you recognize these doubts and fears are from the enemy. God used you in a wonderful way last year and has even more planned for you this year. If we are honest, I believe we all struggle with doubt and fear. A verse that helps me through these times is Phil. 4:8. Satan knows that if he can get our focus off the things that are true and lovely, it gives room for doubt and fear to creep in. I am so excited about your return to AH and am especially glad that we will be with you for part of that time. I am praying for you to be filled with joy and anticipation of what is awaiting you during your time at AH. Love and blessings, Sandra

  2. Thinking about you and praying for you too! I know a little bit how you feel. I just love when I’m discouraged and open my Bible to a verse that is just what i need to read!! God is amazing like that. He knows just what we need, when we need it! I can’t thank Him enough for being faithful!! ❤

  3. It is so encouraging to me that we are both going through doubts and fears right now. Your words uplift me, sweet sister, and I know (even though it’s hard to understand) that these things only draw us closer and closer to Him. Praying for you as we count down the days ❤

I'd love to hear from you!

