not your typical cookout

On Saturday evening we had the greatest privilege of gathering together with our sweet friends from the Women’s Refuge Center to thank the Lord for his provision and celebrate our friendship with a traditional Ugandan meal.  It was by far the best food I’ve ever had over here, not to mention the sweetest fellowship!

DSC_8505

Vickie taught us girls how to make the traditional African flat bread called chapati.

DSC_8373

DSC_8380
Vickie teaching Holly how to shape the dough

DSC_8391

DSC_8402

DSC_8403
Alex rolling the dough flat with a bottle

DSC_8407

DSC_8390
each piece was fried in a tiny bit of oil, approx. 45 seconds each side
DSC_8393
chapati is seriously the best thing I’ve ever put in my mouth!
DSC_8397
Rose, one of our joyful cooks, preparing the goat

We took pictures while waiting on the food to cook…

DSC_8399
Maurine & Addi
DSC_8408
Francis

DSC_8490

DSC_8481
baby Blessing with her Auntie Stella
DSC_8493
Joyce & Morris
DSC_8492
Ella & Francis
DSC_8425
Patrick & Kenneth | credit: Francis
DSC_8470
Tim made a slow motion video of the kids dancing….they laughed so hard when he played it back for them!
DSC_8446
Jamilla, Comboni & I | credit: Addi
DSC_8521
our visiting friends, Tim & Amy, with their sponsored boys, Junior and Patrick
DSC_8563
Gaines & Mama Sandra

DSC_8509

DSC_8520

DSC_8524

DSC_8529

DSC_8528
Our meal consisted of goat, fried chicken, rice, soup, dodo, and chapati.
DSC_8538
Morris

DSC_8536

DSC_8527
Roman
DSC_8525
Justin
8 thoughts on “not your typical cookout

  1. I love reading your post and seeing the pictures! Praying for you and the ministry. Your smile brightens my day. Love you bunches sweet Hannah.

  2. Your beautiful pictures bring to life the love you are sharing. Pictures go much further than words and fill my mind with your memories. Thank you
    for sharing!1

  3. Oh, this sounds so neat & oh so fun!! The chapati looks good. What is it made out of? I love making home made tortillas, so this sounds fun! 🙂

  4. Thank you so much for all your pictures of the Acholi people, but especially when you get to post pictures of my daughter and her family, the Moody’s, or as we call them, the Moody Tribe. The pictures show the Love of God that my grandchildren are showing to others and it does this grandmother’s heart good to see it and to see them. ❤

  5. Praying for you daily, Hannah, to feel the Lord’s hand on your life! We miss you but are so thrilled to see how the Lord is working. And that chapati looks delicious! Love you!
    Cathy B

  6. Hi hannah, I came across your blog on Pinterest and have read a few of your posts. They are so sweet + full of Joy!! I don’t know you but I will definitely be praying for you!! I’m only in high school but I’ve felt called to missions in Africa for a long time… to see the great stuff you’re doing definitely gives me some confidence in what the lord has called me, so thank you!!!

I'd love to hear from you!

