child development program

DSC_8427

The Child Development Program at Abaana’s Hope is designed to assist vulnerable children in realizing their full potential in Christ, in the home, and in the community. “A tree is easier bent when it is young,” so we believe now is the time to invest in these children from a holistic approach. The program is designed to give them a solid Biblical foundation to make a positive change in their homes and to lead the next generation.
By sponsoring a child you are providing a scholarship into the Child Development Program that will provide for their educational, spiritual, and physical needs. You are also able to connect with your child and build a life-changing relationship at the most critical time in their life. Words cannot do justice to the impact your friendship and encouragement has on the child.
-Four Corners Ministries

DSC_8149

In these first 6 weeks I’ve been serving daily in the Child Development Program (CDP), one of Abaana’s Hope’s newest ministries.  It was a project that Myron was managing, so I’m honored to have the opportunity to carry on the torch for a little while.

Nearly every day we go out into the bush, visiting homes and schools to assess the situations of children in the community and care for those who are already enrolled in CDP.  The contrast between the lives of the already sponsored children and those who are still waiting for support is like night and day.  My heart breaks every time I hear a feeble grandmother tell us that she’s no longer able to work on the farm to provide for her orphaned grandchildren.  Or to see a mother in tears that she can’t put  food in her children’s mouths, or a roof over their head.  On the flip side, my heart rejoices so much when we visit the families whose needs are being met because of sponsorships.  It’s only a work God could do to change these lives, but wow! the fact that he let’s us be a part of carrying out his plan is so amazing to me!

DSC_8899

I could write about CDP for hours…so many stories from the bush that we’ve already heard, situations of Christ transforming families one child at a time, one sponsor at a time.  It’s definitely my desire to update you on the progress of CDP in the coming days, especially on our precious kids, so I’m going to begin writing out some of these accounts in my free time.

While I’m doing that, however, things need to keep moving!  We need to keep praying and taking action.  There are so many kids ready to be supported.  7 children in particular from this area very urgently need sponsors.  While we have about 30 kids on the waiting list, these 7 classify as most urgent because they literally have nothing…no house, no food, no material provision.  I’ve been to their homes– several are living in dangerous conditions deep in the bush, while others are simply severely malnourished and unable to find food.  The poverty is so very real.  These children survive by sleeping on tarps, searching for their next meal, and drinking water from polluted streams.  Can you even comprehend that?

Meet the kids:

Would you please pray for these 7 children to receive support as soon as possible?

**UPDATE 7/31/16, In the last 2 weeks Odong Francis, Komakech Sunday, Lubangakene Oscar, and Ocen Francis have been FULLY sponsored!  Akello Franca, Apiyo Vanesa and Opiyo Denis have been partially sponsored, in addition to several other kids on our waiting list!  We can’t stop praising God for his work in your lives and provision for these kids!  Thank you, friends!  Oh the kiddos are going to be thrilled to hear about your investment in their lives this week!**

Would YOU even consider sponsoring one of them?!

Many people will sponsor children alone, but maybe you’re not financially able to give $40 each month.  That’s totally understandable, and guess what? others are in the same place as you.  Think about making sponsorship a group effort!  We have families sponsoring a child together, Bible study groups, and even church families setting aside a portion of their offerings to invest in the life of a child .  It’s a beautiful picture of the body of Christ caring for the least of these.

Please join us in prayer!  Take action by spreading the word about this opportunity to release a child from poverty and give them hope for a brighter future.  Let’s try to get these 7 kiddos sponsored within the next couple of weeks!

Click HERE to learn more about CDP and sponsor a child!!

I love you, friends!  Thank you for being such a wonderful support to me and the whole ministry!  You’re loving like Jesus!


I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.  Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.

Matthew 25:35-36, 40

7 thoughts on “child development program

  1. Thank for sharing more about the CDP! I am still very interested in sponsoring a child, and plan to as soon as I have the money to do so ❤ Praying for these precious children!!
    -Faith

  2. Pingback: BEAUTIFUL FEET

I'd love to hear from you!

