if you give a kid a camera | two little piggies

Grace was one of the first two women enrolled in the Women’s Refuge Program two years ago.  Following the structured plan of the project, she went from being alone in the bush with her 5 kids, unable to survive on her own, to completely dependent on the ministry, to saving enough money to purchase a piece of land, to building a home and a piggery all of her own.

On Wednesday Grace took her final step in the 2-year process…getting her pigs from the WRC piggery to begin her own business.  We all went to celebrate God’s provision and document her pride in bringing these two little piggies to their new home.

Jamilla, Alex and I captured the joy of the afternoon together!

First I took a turn…

DSC_8959

DSC_8960

DSC_8968

DSC_8972
I love Brian’s smile!  At the moment (7/18/16) Brian still needs one more sponsor!!
DSC_8984
credit: Alex
DSC_8989
dance party!
DSC_8994
Comboni & Alex
july 13
Gaines & Patrick

july 13

july 13

Then Jamilla took over for a little while.  I love the way she sees the world!

july 13
Patrick
july 13
Gaines & grandma Paulina
july 13
Moses & Benson in the garden
july 13
the piggery at the Women’s Refuge Center
july 13
I guess this is just my go-to goofy pose…

july 13

july 13

july 13

I took this picture to give J an idea of what to capture…

july 13

…being on the smaller side, she climbed the gate and impressed me with these…

july 13

july 13

july 13

july 13

She was so cute up there, I grabbed the camera for just a moment 🙂

july 13

july 13
She’s popping out of her shell more everyday! She makes me laugh so much!

july 13

july 13
me & Addi
july 13
Francis
july 13
Justine.  As of today (7/18/16) Justine still needs one more sponsor!!

Then I got a spur of the moment portrait session…

july 13

july 13

july 13

july 13
This, my friends, is what the back of the piggery looks like.
july 13
cute little Morris

july 13

july 13

july 13
Morris tried… 🙂

july 13

july 13

july 13

july 13

july 13
Benson grabbed piglet #1

And I got the camera back because J wanted to run ahead…

july 13
Patrick grabbed piglet #2

july 13

july 13

They were so stubborn and ended up having to be carried by the legs all the way to Grace’s place!

july 13

july 13

july 13

july 13

july 13

july 13
Two little piggies happily settling in their new piggery!
july 13
Grace was so proud…as was Maurine!
july 13
Alex & Ramond
july 13
On the walk back Brian got a hold of Alex’s camera

And so lastly, Alex took a turn with the big camera…

july 13
Ramond
july 13
Jamilla pumping water at the borehole back at the WRC
july 13
Francis
july 13
One of these days I’m going to balance it on my head for real!
july 13
J’s can fell off her head because she was laughing so hard!
6 thoughts on “if you give a kid a camera | two little piggies

  1. I just saw a similar post on Alex’s blog!! 🙂 This is so neat!
    I love seeing what the kiddos capture!! It must bring you such joy to see them having fun & capturing photos! And i love those goofy photos of YOU! Reminds me of me. 😉 I do the same thing. 💙 Hard to smile ‘normally’ when ya can be goofy! LOL
    ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. Thank you so much for sharing Hannah Ashley! I look forward to all of your posts….I miss you so much…can’t wait til November☺♥

  3. What a great story!! Love these pictures and just seeing the laughter and joy in the children’s faces both in front and behind the camera!

I'd love to hear from you!

